Patrick Witzak, M. A.

Room: NB 1/31
Phone: +49 (0)234 32-24370

Work topics

Patrick Witzak is a research assistant at the professorship for "Sociology of Digital Transformation" at the Ruhr-University Bochum (Prof. Dr. Markus Hertwig) and a research assistant at the professorship for "Sociology with a Focus on Work and Organization" at the Chemnitz University of Technology (vacant professorship). He is also a doctoral candidate at the professorship for sociology with a focus on comparative sociology at the University of Duisburg-Essen (Prof. Dr. Sigrid Quack) and a former scholarship holder of the Hans Böckler Foundation (Altstipendiat). Patrick is currently also an adjunct lecturer in the Transdisciplinary Course Program (formerly Studium Professionale) at Eberhard Karls University Tübingen.

In his research, he focuses on the role of legal actors and transnational activist networks that influence the legally binding degree of new forms of regulation on labor and social rights. In addition to his dissertation, he is conducting research on the digitalization of labor relations using the example of the digital platform YouTube. As part of his research, he completed a stay as a Visiting-PhD Candidate at the Departamento de Sociología y Antropología Social at the Universitat de València (Prof. Dr. José-Manuel Rodríguez Victoriano) and at the School of Management and Labor Relations at Rutgers University (Prof. Tobias Schulze-Cleven Ph.D.).

Curriculum vitae

  • Research Assistant, Ruhr University Bochum, since 06/2021

  • Research Assistant, Chemnitz University of Technology, since 01/2021

  • Visiting Ph.D. candidate,  Rutgers University (USA), 09/2019

  • Visiting Ph.D. candidate, Universitat de València (Spain), 04/2019 – 06/2019

  • Visiting Ph.D. candidate, International Labour Organization (Switzerland), 03/2019

  • Ph.D. candidate,  University of Duisburg-Essen, since 12/2017

  • Master of Arts Sociology, University of Duisburg-Essen 2015–2017

  • Bachelor of Arts Sociology, University of Duisburg-Essen 2011–2015